London born Roy Williams is an award winning playwright. His third play for the Royal Court, Fallout, won the 2003 South Bank Show Arts Council Decibel Award. His second, Clubland, won the 2001 Evening Standard Charles Wintour Award for Most Promising Playwright and Lift Off, also for the Royal Court, was joint winner of the George Devine Award 2000. His other work includes The Gift (Birmingham Rep), Local Boy (Hampstead Theatre) and The No-boys Cricket Club (Theatre Royal Stratford East). Williams was the first recipient of the Alfred Fagan Award and winner of both the John Whiting Award 1997 and the EMMA Award 1999 for Starstruck (Tricycle Theatre).


Title Date Publisher
Sucker Punch 2010 Methuen Drama
Williams Plays 3: Fallout; Slow Time; Days of Significance; Absolute Beginners 2008 Methuen Drama
Little Sweet Thing 2005 Methuen Drama
Roy Williams Plays: v. 2: Sing Yer Heart Out for the Lads; Clubland; The Gift 2004 Methuen Drama
Roy Williams Plays 1: The No Boys Cricket Club; Starstruck; Lift Off 2002 Methuen Drama

Critical sources

Title Date Publisher